• La Plata Electric Association names college scholarship recipients


    Academic achievements of seven area high school seniors recognized

    Recipients of the 2013-2014 La Plata Electric, John Voelker Memorial, Basin Electric Power Cooperative and Tri-State Generation and Transmission scholarships have been announced by La Plata Electric Association (LPEA).

    The 29th Annual LPEA College Scholarships, two four-year scholarships (up to $7000 annually or $28,000 for tuition, books and fees) have been awarded to Ruby Roll, a senior at Durango High School, and Isaiah Thompson, a senior at Pagosa Springs High School. Roll plans to major in physics at Lewis & Clark College, Ore. Thompson is heading to the University of Denver to study computer science.

    Seumus McAliney and Lukas Morgan, seniors at Durango High School, have been awarded LPEA’s 13th Annual John Voelker Memorial Scholarships, $10,000 for two years, for vocational, technical school or junior college. McAliney will study mechanical engineering at Yavapai College in Arizona, while Morgan will attend Universal Technical Institute in Arizona to pursue his passion for automotive technical training. LPEA’s John Voelker Memorial Scholarship remembers former LPEA board member John Voelker, who was instrumental in creating the vocational scholarship. Voelker perished in the Egyptian Air plane crash in October of 1999.

    Aaron Cash, a senior at Durango High School, received the $1,000 Basin Electric Power Cooperative Scholarship. With plans to attend Colorado State University at Fort Collins, Cash will pursue a degree in mechanical engineering.

    Austin Scalf and John Skeath, seniors at Durango High School, each received $500 scholarships from Tri-State Generation and Transmission Association. Scalf intends to study engineering, and colleges under consideration are CSU-Fort Collins, Stanford University and Duke University. Skeath will focus on electrical engineering and attend the Colorado School of Mines.

    “We endeavor to spread our college scholarships and awards throughout our service territory, but the majority of applicants were from Durango this year,” said Jeannie Bennett, coordinator of LPEA’s scholarship process. “All of our scholarship recipients are great students with exciting potential, but we hope next year that more students from Bayfield, Ignacio and Pagosa will apply. At LPEA we are proud to be able to offer these educational opportunities.”

    Funds for the LPEA and LPEA/John Voelker Memorial Scholarships come from LPEA’s unclaimed Capital Credits. Each year, LPEA endeavors to find “missing” members who are due a share of retired Capital Credits. Those funds unable to be returned to members are then put back into the community – in this case, into college scholarships.

    For further information or for questions regarding future scholarship opportunities, contact Jeannie Bennett at 970.382.3505, or jbennett@lpea.coop.

    LPEA, a Touchstone Energy Cooperative established in 1939, provides to its more than 30,000 members, with nearly 41,000 meters, safe, reliable electricity at the lowest reasonable cost, while being environmentally responsible. For additional information, contact LPEA at 970.247.5786 or visit www.lpea.coop.

    << Go Back