• La Plata Electric Annual Meeting

    The 2017 annual meeting will be held May 13th at the Sky Ute Casino & Resort in Ignacio, Colorado.

    Annual meeting notice and candidate statements


    Director elections scheduled in three LPEA board districts

    Ballots for the election of three directors on the La Plata Electric Association (LPEA) board are set to be mailed on or around April 13, 2017. LPEA directors represent their geographic districts and help determine current and future policy at the electric cooperative. Election results will be announced during the LPEA Annual Meeting, May 13, 2017.

    “We encourage our members to be involved,” said Mike Dreyspring, LPEA CEO. “We are facing exciting challenges in the industry, and we need to be thoughtful and conscientious as we explore our options going forward. This election is very important. We encourage LPEA members to get to know the candidates in their district and vote.”

    In accordance with LPEA’s bylaws, annually one seat in each of LPEA’s four districts comes up for election. This year in District 1 (Archuleta County), incumbent candidate Bob Lynch is the only nominee, thus the election in that district will be cancelled and Lynch will retain his seat.

    The approximately 8,620 LPEA members in District 2, south and west La Plata County, will select between incumbent Davin Montoya and new candidate Kim Martin. 

    In District 3 (City of Durango), two new candidates will vie for the seat vacated by retiring incumbent Jeff Berman: R. Michael Bell and Rachel Landis. District 3 includes approximately 8,045 eligible voters.

    District 4 members have an option to vote for one of two: incumbent Joe Wheeling or new candidate Guinn Unger. More than 7,886 eligible voters are in District 4, which covers north and east La Plata County, including part of Bayfield.

    Ballots must be received by 4 p.m., Friday, May 12 at the La Plata County Clerk’s office (Bodo Park). The Clerk’s office is the independent, third-party retained by LPEA to tally the ballots utilizing La Plata County’s official ballot counting equipment. Ballots may also be dropped off at LPEA’s offices in Durango or Pagosa Springs, the La Plata County Administration office in Downtown Durango, Farmer’s Fresh in Ignacio and Bayfield Town Hall, or mailed by May 9 to ensure timely delivery at the County Clerk’s office.

    If not voting prior to the meeting, members can bring their ballots to the Annual Meeting at Sky Ute Casino and Resort in Ignacio on May 13. Registration for the Annual Meeting begins at 9 a.m., with the business meeting to commence at 10:30 a.m. Any member voting at the Annual Meeting must do so prior to 10:30 a.m.


    Previous Annual Meetings

    2016 - Sky Ute Casino and Resort - Ignacio, CO

    2015 - Pagosa Springs High School - Pagosa Springs, CO

    2014 - Community Concert Hall at Fort Lewis College - Durango, CO

    2013 - Sky Ute Casino and Resort - Ignacio, CO